Autumn term 

Thursday 8th October 2015

“In Conversation with Alan Johnson MP”

Alan Johnson MP


Thursday 15th October 2015

Panel Discussion on Decriminalising Prostitution in the UK

with…  Dr Catherine Hakim, Laura Lee, Julie Bindel and Fiona Broadfoot


Thursday 22nd October 2015 – Francis Beckett

“Blair Inc: The Man Behind the Mask”

Francis Beckett


Thursday 5th November 2015

Panel Discussion: “Labour, Welcome to the Wilderness Years”

with… Peter Oborne, Alison McGovern MP, Michael White, Afshin Rattansi and Joana Ramiro


Thursday 12th November

“The Fall and Rise of Ivan Massow: Business, Politics & Gay Rights”

Ivan Massow


Thursday 19th November

“Workers, Trade Unionism and Fighting the Nasty Party”

Len McCluskey


Spring term 

Monday 11th January

“Injustice, Inequality and the 1%”

Professor Danny Dorling


Tuesday 26th January

“Choppy Waters: The Conservative Party Against All Odds”

with… Dan Hodges and Stephen Bush 


Thursday 11th February

“This House Believes Multiculturalism Has Failed Britain”

with… Trevor Phillips OBE, David Goodhart, Professor Tariq Modood and Zoe Williams


Tuesday 16th February

“Pornography and the Demonisation of Young Men”

Martin Daubney


Tuesday 23rd February

“This House Believes Freedom of Expression is Under Threat at British Universities”

with… Brendan O’Neill, Haydar Zaki and Tom Cutterham


Summer term 

Wednesday 1st June

“The Futures of Britain and UKIP”

Steven Woolfe MEP


Tuesday 14th June

“On Lager and Lordship” 

Lord Bilimoria delivers inaugural York Union lecture at York Festival of Ideas 2016


Wednesday 15th June

Panel Discussion: “The Future of the Welfare State”

with… Sally Tomlinson, Lisa Mckenzie, Chris Goulden, Stephen Davies and Sam Bowman at York Festival of Ideas 2016

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 1.11.44 pm